Loose talk

In what way do I engage in too much loose talk? What do I gossip and complain about?

In the army I learned during the a personel officer training to communicate shortly, accurately and comprehensively. Be to the point, be accurate and cover every angle needed. It is a lesson that stayed well with me throughout my life and it is possibly the most valuable lesson I learned while I was in the army.

As a toastmaster I have learned to condensed my speaking and how to convey a clear message with intent. And as a Stoic not to speak without a particular intent. A Rosicrucian principle is if you can not say something constructive about somebody then rather be silent. Consequently I do not easily engage in loose talk and would try to avoidit if I can. Like with worry, loose talk is a means of wasting energy. There is a social value to it to engage with people and to learn to know other people but we need to be thoughtful and considerate in our communication with others. Sometimes people are getting even more upset when we refuse to join them in such loose talk or gossip. Often potential friendships are lost as a result but those who remain friends are friends that one can trust when it really matters.

I would think that I am fairly disciplined when it comes to avoiding gossip and to refrain from complaining. I am more likely to look for something constructive that can be said or to put my effort into something creative that can actually accomplish an actual solution.

What is your opinion?